Riemann Prize laureate 2019: Terence Tao

The prize, a piece of art made by Master Marcello Morandini.
Terence Tao image

Terence Tao

Terence Chi-Shen Tao is an Australian-American mathematician who has worked in various areas of mathematics.

He currently focuses on harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, geometric combinatorics, arithmetic combinatorics, analytic number theory, compressed sensing, and algebraic combinatorics.

Tao was a recipient of the 2006 Fields Medal and the 2014 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics. He is also a 2006 MacArthur Fellow.

This prolific mathematician has been the author or co-author of 275 research papers, his most impressive results being those on three-dimensional NavierStokes existence and smoothness.

Terence Tao's website

Terence Tao to receive inaugural Riemann Prize

President of RISM - Daniele Cassani - announcing the awardee at University of Insubria during the opening ceremony of the academic year

Terence Tao to receive inaugural Riemann Prize Terence Tao, a world renowned mathematician based at the University of California in Los Angeles, USA, has been announced as the first recipient of the Riemann Prize in Mathematics, awarded by the Riemann International School of Mathematics (RISM).

The Riemann International School of Mathematics was founded in 2009 and was established in 2014 as a non-profit association. Its goal is to promote fundamental mathematical research and education, through international congresses, workshops, PhD courses and school activities. RISM has a stunning location within the prestigious premises of the Università degli Studi dell’Insubria at Villa Toeplitz in Varese, in Northern Italy near the Swiss border.

Bernhard Riemann (1826-1866) was among the greatest mathematicians of all times.

His name is all over modern mathematics: Riemann sums and integrals, the Riemann zeta function and the Riemann Hypothesis, Riemannian geometry, Riemann surfaces and the Riemann sphere. Two generations later, his work served as a crucial tool in Einstein's development of general relativity.

He lived and worked mostly in Göttingen, but late in life he traveled through Italy and especially in Insubria, the old name for the lakes region where he is buried.

The Riemann Prize was established in 2019, on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of RISM. Along with RISM, its co-sponsors include all public and private universities of Lombardia, the government of Regione Lombardia, and the municipality of Varese.

It will be awarded every three years by an international committee (the first one composed by Enrico Bombieri, Institute for Advanced Studies; Alice Chang, Princeton University; Ron Donagi, University of Pennsylvania, Louis Nirenberg, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences and the President of RISM, University of Insubria) to outstanding mathematicians aged 40-65 who have reached breakthrough achievements, as a tribute to the prominent figure of Bernhard Riemann.

The inaugural prize will be awarded to Terence Tao in 2020 at the Università degli Studi dell’Insubria in Varese. The ceremony will be the culmination of week-long activities in honor of the awardee, a research conference and a mathematical festival.

The prize will include a piece of art made by Master Marcello Morandini.
For more information www.rism.it and This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - www.marcellomorandini.com