Riemann Prize

This image for Image Layouts addon

The masterpiece

The master Marcello Morandini has designed an exclusive sculpture​ for the Riemann Prize which will be given to the awardee at the presence of major institutions and academic representatives and the parchment carrying the motivations of the Prize released by the​ Riemann Prize Committee which will be renewed every three years, the first one composed by Enrico Bombieri (IAS), Alice Chang (Princeton University), Ron Donagi (University od Pennsylvania) Louis Nirenberg (NYU) and the president of RISM.


Riemann Prize 2019

On the occasion of the opening of the Academic Year 2019-2020, the President of RISM will announce the inaugural recipient of the Riemann Prize.

Established in 2019, on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of RISM, under the patronage of all public and private Universities of Lombardia, the support of the government of Regione​ Lombardia, the municipality of Varese and the main partners: University of Insubria, University of Milano and University of Milano-Bicocca.

Awarded every three years​ since 2019 to outstanding mathematicians between 40 and 65 years old who have reached breakthrough​ achievements, as a tribute to the prominent figure of Bernhard Riemann. For the first edition of the Riemann Prize, the solemn prize ceremony will be in Varese in fall 2020 at the Università degli Studi dell’Insubria and will be the clue of a week dedicated to​ mathematics during which it will be organized a conference in honor of the awardee besides other​ cultural activities.

This scientific recognition is expected to become an international appointment.​

A piece of art created and donated by Marcello Morandini